2015.06.06 – 10:35 PM – Indonesia

You know what? About two weeks before, I told myself that I would, certainly would, have fun after I passed my examination day.

I told myself that I would go ice skating (since I never tried it) and bought a really thick novel that I’ve desired for years now.

BUT I’M BROKE!! ~(TTOTT)~

In my city, if the price has not changed yet, the price for ice skating in the ice ring is about Rp 50,000,- (equals to $ 3.73 and ¥ 468.94) AND the price of novel I’ve desired is amount to Rp 200,000 (equals to $ 14.93 and ¥ 1875.77)! I don’t know how much it is for you and Indonesian in general, but for me it is too much! I’ve spent all my money to print and bind my Undergraduate Thesis last week.

I want to ‘ice skate’ because I want to challenge myself. I can play road roller (or is it ‘road skate’?); and since both of them are very similar in a way, I want to know whether I can do it or not.

Musashi - Yoshikawa Eiji
Musashi – Yoshikawa Eiji

And the novel…’Musashi’, written by Yoshikawa Eiji (吉川英治).

Do you know this novel? A SUPER CLASSIC AND GREAT JAPANESE NOVEL!!!! It tells you about how Miyamoto Musashi (宮本武蔵) becomes a great samurai; how he learns the way of sword by travelling all around the Japan, beating up every samurai while at it (not the right word, but you get the gist of it.) And… the tragedy of romance. To learn the way of sword, he have to sacrifice the love of his life…

SUPPRESSED ROMANCE!! I really love the frustration. Gosh, I want to read it! I have the e-book version, but I WANT TO OWN IT! I want to read the hardcopy. Reading that thick of a book on screen is a bit… reckless.

I really want to own it. I want to own it. I want to own it. I want to see it in my room.

And after I buy this novel, I will buy Yoshikawa’s other works too… Like Heike and Taiko, and the thinner books…

So, I need to wait again, a bit longer…

