Kagamine Rin - Cinderella syndrome |Illustration by Hina no Suke
Kagamine Rin – Cinderella syndrome |Illustration by Hina no Suke

Cinderella Syndrome is Karasuyasabou’s sixth work, uploaded on 21 February 2011. It tells you about a girl’s queasiness (let’s just assume that it’s Cinderella already) towards her image of happiness that she knew will be gone soon; About how Cinderella is depended on the Prince for her happiness.

She wants to be happy; she wants to be loved, and for that she let the magic do its work for her so she can look beautiful in front of her prince charming. But the magic comes with a condition; that it will only last until midnight. And so she enjoys her time in fear for tomorrow, always looking at the mirror, ascertaining herself that she’s still beautiful. But as the clock ticking to twelve at midnight, she grows more uneasy. She knew the magic will unravel soon and show others her plain life. She isn’t ready for that and thus she run away. But then, the glass slipper breaks and shatters… she is reminded that she is only a plain girl once more, and really… what is happiness? It flies out of the window. Happiness is long gone.

That’s the summary of the song. I actually like the melody without knowing the meaning. But now that I know the meaning, I like it even more. Isn’t it heartfelt? Okay, more notes here… Actually the definition of Cinderella Syndrome itself varies… idk which ones true. More about Cinderella Syndrome as one of psychology issue, read these articles: [NYTimes] [InnerPacific]

Hear the song here: [NND][YT]; also, if you want to karaoke with this song, KyarrilKara has made the video: [YT]

Disclaimer: The song as well as the lyric are not mine to claim. I do not get the lyric and english translation by hearing either, but rather by picking it at someone’s post. See the credit at the end of this post.


Cinderella Syndrome (シンデレラシンドローム)

Lyric (作詞):Karasuyasabou (カラスヤサボウ)
Music (作曲):Karasuyasabou (カラスヤサボウ)
Singer (歌):Kagamine Rin (鏡音リン) Sweet and Warm Append

Kanji

Romaji

English Translation

甘い甘い時の中で
確かな事は何もなくて
明日を告げる鐘の音に怯えて
Amai amai toki no naka de
Tashikana koto wa nani mo nakute
Asu wo tsugeru kane no oto ni obiete
During a sweetened time
There is nothing that is definite
I fear the bell that declares tomorrow
心に積もる灰の中で
駆け下りる階段の途中
ガラスの靴は支えてくれないの
Kokoro ni tsumoru hai no naka de
Kake oriru kaidan no tochyuu
Glass (Garasu) no kutsu wa sasaete kurenai no
In the pile of ashes in my heart
I run down the middle of the staircase
My glass slippers don’t give me any support
冷え切ったこの声が
綺麗な言葉でつむぐ嘘を
鏡の中で見ていたの
偽物ドレスで踊り続けるのを
Hie kitta kono koe ga
Kireina kotoba de tsumugu uso wo
Kagami no naka de miteita no
Nisemono doresu de odori tsuzukeru no wo
This piercing cold voice
Spins lies in a beautiful language
I was looking at the mirror
As I kept dancing in this fake dress
12時を指した時計が
君の魔法を解いてゆくの 痛いよ
淡い色で塗りつぶした
景色が滲んでく 乾いて消えてく
Juuni ji wo sashita tokei ga
Kimi no mahou wo toite yuku no itai yo
Awai iro de nuritsubushita
Keshiki ga nijinde ku kawaite kiete ku
The clock that points at 12
Will unmask your magic for what it is- How that will hurt!
Everything once vibrant pales in color
It all starts to blur as its beauty is drained away
甘い甘い時の中で
不確かな声にしがみつく
約束のない明日に怯えてる
Amai amai toki no naka de
Futashikana koe ni shigamitsuku
Yakusoku no nai ashita ni obie teru
During a sweetened time
I cling to an uncertain voice
I’m afraid of what tomorrow will bring
心に積もる灰の中で
あまりにも脆く砕けてく
ガラスの靴の欠片が突き刺さる
Kokoro ni tsumoru hai no naka de
Amarini mo moroku kudakete ku
Glass (Garasu) no kutsu no kakera ga tsukisasaru
In the pile of ashes in my heart
The excessively fragile glass slippers break
And the shattered remains pierce my skin
破れてくこの心を
継ぎ足して 解(ほつ)れて 歪んでく
鏡の中でみていたよ
“幸せ” の意味を忘れてゆくのを
Yaburete ku kono kokoro wo tsugitashite
Hogurete igande ku
Kagami no naka de mite ita yo
“Shiawase” no imi wo wasurete yuku no wo
Like my slippers, my breaking heart
Is projected as it unravels and distorts
I was looking at the mirror
As I forgot the meaning of “Happiness”
12時を指した時計が
君の魔法を解いてゆくの 痛いよ
淡い色から順番に 消えてくの?
キラキラひかるあの日々も
Juuni ji wo sashita tokei ga
Kimi no mahou wo toite yuku no itai yo
Awai iro kara junban ni kiete ku no?
Kira kira hikaru ano hibi mo
The clock that points at 12
Will unmask your magic for what it- How that will hurt!
From the pale colors I can see
Is everything that sparkled going to disappear?
12時を指した時計が
君の魔法を解いてゆくの 痛いよ
さよなら きっと見てたのは
幸せなマボロシ
Juuni ji wo sashita tokei ga
Kimi no mahou wo toite yuku no itai yo
Sayonara kitto mi teta no wa
Shiawasena maboroshi
The clock that points at 12
Will unmask your magic for what it is- How that will hurt!
Goodbye what I was seeing all
Must have been a happy fantasy…
12時を指した時計が
君の魔法を解いてゆくの 痛いよ
淡い色で塗りつぶした
景色が滲んでく 乾いて消えてゆく
Juuni ji wo sashita tokei ga
Kimi no mahou wo toite yuku no itai yo
Awai iro de nuritsubushita
Keshiki ga nijinde ku kawaite kiete yuku
The clock that points at 12
Will unmask your magic for what it is- How that will hurt!
Everything once vibrant pales in color
It all starts to blur as its beauty is drained away…

UTAITE COVER (歌ってみた)

So far, I only find and listen to three cover. If you want to know more, just go to Nico Nico Douga (NND), type the title of the song in Japanese, and then search the video. I bet there will be lots of them. Okay, so… here there are, the three cover…

1. Himawari (向日葵) – [NND] ~ the first cover of this song that I found is Himawari’s cover on Youtube. Well, the link is no longer accessible so just see the video on Nico Nico Douga. Since I don’t really like female utaite (idk why myself, I like male utaite more), I can’t say much. But I really like how she does the refrain. She hit the high note well and it doesn’t seems forced. And her voice is so clear.

2. Amu (あむ) – his version is released in his first major album: Step on, track 2. his cover uses a different arrangement, so I was a bit exciting to hear it. His version is well-made, however sometimes I feel that his voice is too quiet that it is almost swallowed by the instruments. Maybe it’s just me. Also, when he sings ‘itai yo’ [痛いよ], it’s so full of feel, hehe. I really like the new arrangement, especially in the interlude.

3. Rib (りぶ) – [YT] ~ his version is released in his first album: Rib on, track 10. I am happy that one of my favourite utaite do a cover for this song. For me, it’s like a plus point for him from me hehe… When I first listened to his version, I almost caught myself off guard. I thought it would be high note, but no, he uses low key. And then, he caught my attention entirely when he sing the second part of the song; exactly this part: ‘Garasu no kutsu no kakera ga tsukisasaru’ [ガラスの靴の欠片が突き刺さる]; the way he drawls this word: ‘tsukisasaru’ [突き刺さる] is soooo… idk, I love it! And whenever he sounds a word with ‘i’ at the end, it sounds so cute! Anyway, his voice is like a whisper – soft and smooth. And his self-insert ‘dadada~’ in the end of the song, is very much appreciated by me. I love it so much! >///<

PS: But really, I like the original the best. Rin’s voice fit the song so well 🙂 Hearing her song is addicting.


Credits:

1. Vocaloid Wiki for the description of the song, as well as the lyric in kanji and romaji. Go here: [link]

2. melodyth on SongMeanings for posting the english translation of the lyric, go here: [link]

3. Rib’s cover that is embedded here, is posted by Haruka_Hourou on SoundCloud.

